• English
  • Om EU-Oplysningen
  • Leksikon
  • Bestil
  • Links
  • Abonnement


Du er her: EU-OplysningenHomeFAQAll questions › In which countries is ...


In which countries is the euro used?

On 1 January 2002 the euro was introduced as a physical currency in 12 of the then 15 EU countries:  Germany, France, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Ireland, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Austria and Finland.

The United Kingdom, Sweden and Denmark kept the pound sterling and the krone/krona, but in the 12 euro countries the Deutsche Mark, franc, lira, peseta and drachma, etc. were replaced with the euro as the means of payment. After a transition period, in which the old currencies were replaced with euro coins and banknotes, the euro is now the only legal tender in the euro countries.

The euro is also used in Monaco, San Marino, the Vatican State and Andorra which are not members of the EU, and these three small states have even been granted permission to issue euro coins with their own national sides.

18 euro countries

The 13 new countries which have joined the EU since the introduction of the euro in 2002 are under an obligation to introduce the euro in the long term. So far Slovenia, Malta, Cyprus, Slovakia, Latvia and Estonia have introduced the euro. At the moment there are 18 EU countries with euro as their national currency.

Referendums on the euro
 In a referendum on 28 September 2000 a majority of people voted 'no' to Denmark participating in the third stage of EMU and introducing the euro. In Sweden a corresponding referendum on Sweden’s participation in the euro was held on 14 September 2003 in which a majority also voted 'no'.

Sidst opdateret: 06-09-2013  - Julie Grevsen